Revenge or Not?

Revenge or Not?

Dear  بأمين الأفكار

Ok before I start this post of mine… I know I am going to offend someone and in advance, PLEASE read “the who am I” page.

Someone emailed me asking for a dua to punish someone who hurt her, not physically but emotionally, after many years together he did not marry her, and married someone else, she was really upset that I did not give her such a dua {honestly I don’t even know one}…my answer to her was.. “To heal sister is to forget, forgive and wish the best for everyone. Allah looks at how we react to circumstances. Remember the wheel turns, I know and understand the hurt and
pain you must be feeling, although my hurt and pain was caused by my “ex-husband” your by a boyfriend, which in Islam such a relationship is forbidden, but I am not going to pass judgments, remember sister, by you wanting someone to be punished, you are asking the same for yourself.”

And as I had expected she was not happy at all with my answer, was my answer wrong? As a women I do understand her pain of being betrayed by someone you love-loved, but I don’t understand why wish badly for that person? Was that love than deep and true? Yes betrayal is hurtful, it’s a pain that is in us forever, but it teaches us never to do that to the next someone we might love, it teaches us the value of honesty, trustworthiness and true deep love in a relationship.

Revenge is never an answer, it is in fact asking doom and gloom on yourself, it is about you not have self confidence, not loving yourself enough,  and in short making one a miserable, unhappy and well a nasty person, and I am sure no one, no one at all wants to be with someone like that.

Don’t forget the past, TAKE the lessons from your past into  the future, to make your future a happy, positive and prosperous one.  

 “There is no revenge as complete as forgiveness.”

“Revenge is always the weak pleasure of a little and narrow mind”

Muslimah… Signing of With Never Agreeing On Wishing Bad Or Revenge On Someone “Wide Eyes”

Walaikum as salaam

“My recipe for life is not being afraid of myself, afraid of what I think, or of my opinions.”

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roshni
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 16:01:05

    Salaam:)

    Revenge is not what Islam teaches us about. I have written a post that would answer this post as well. Hope you would read.

    http://roshnii179.wordpress.com/2009/09/02/a-request/

    ws:)

    Reply

  2. Dua
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 21:26:11

    Asalamu-Alaikum,

    🙂 Exactly the reply that was “expected” from a Allah fearing individual, indeed – Bless you!

    You did the right thing by not supporting something that is not right, one shouldn’t be asking someone to support them in somthing “wrong” , when somebody is disobeing Allah, doing something that is forbidden, no matter how “pure&right” they c it, N how much they justify their “actions” it’s wrong, because It’s not about what “WE” feel or think is right or wrong it’s about what’s right N wrong in Allah’s eyes! The kind of “Love” N “relationships” before marriage that are unfortunately very common these days are no doubt Haram, so what else to expect when one goes against Allah’s commands – but as you said we are not here to judge anyone, all we can do is to pray for Hidiayat for ourself as well as for our fellow Muslims! Insha-Allah! 🙂

    As for revenge, I would say; Little Girl would go for revenge, Real Woman would let the “Karma” do the dirty work 😉 Allah ease everyones pain N give them ability to seek “healing” through patience! 🙂

    Allah Hafiz!

    Reply

Leave a comment